Deshabandu with Tiran

In a decisive move yesterday, the Constituent Assembly gave its nod to confirm Acting Inspector General of Police, Mr. Deshbandu Thennakoon, as the Inspector General of Police.

Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, MP Sagara Kariyawasam, Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, and Dr. Anula Wijesundara (civil society representative) cast their votes in favour of Mr. Tennakoon’s appointment.

However, standing in opposition, Opposition leader Sajith Premadasa and MP Kabir Hashim voiced their dissent with the proposal.

Significantly, among the civil society representatives, Dr. Anula Wijesundara supported the appointment, while Dr. Dinesha Samararatne and Dr. Pratap Ramanujan chose to abstain from voting.

The pivotal moment came when Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abewardena exercised his referee vote, confirming the resolution in favour.

Initiated by the President, the proposal to make Mr. Deshbandu Thennakoon permanent as the Inspector General of Police gained momentum.

The Constitutional Council convened yesterday morning at the Parliament Complex, chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, marking a crucial juncture in the appointment process.

Similar Posts